Need some ideas for engine work

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2009, 10:49 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Need some ideas for engine work

hey guys, i just bought my first project car recently, it's a 1979 camaro z28 with the 350 in it and the 350 turbo trans, as far as the gearing goes i have no idea, it's not posi if that helps, i'm kinda learning while doing this project so any tips would help a lot. as for the engine i was wondering what would be a good setup? it has a 4 barrel holley carb, edelbrock performer aluminum intake and filter, along with moroso valve covers. i'm planning on putting this on the street but i want it to have more hp than the stock 175 i beleive it is, any ideas as far as engine mods go that could give me what i'm loking for? once again i'm fairly new to this so any tips would be appreciated, thanks a lot

Old 06-09-2009, 10:50 PM
2nd Gear member

i would start with heads and exhaust

Old 06-17-2009, 11:34 AM
3rd Gear Member

How much do you have to spend? You say 175hp so I'm assuming it's the stock engine. What kind of Holley 4bbl is on it? Does it havevacuum or mechanical secondaries and what is the CFM if you know? Is it the 2101 Edelbrock Performer or is it the RPM performer?

Also, do you want to make good low end torque that you'll see on the street from stop light to stop light or high end horsepower that you'll never see unless you're highway driving or racing? Get the wrong type of heads and exhaust you'll be stuck going either one way or another and it may not be a direction you want to go in.

Old 06-17-2009, 09:30 PM
In the Staging Lanes