Negitive Grounding

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2015, 07:58 AM
Default Negitive Grounding

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie, here's my first post..Just bought a 1969 z28,the battery is in the trunk.The negative cable is grounded to the trunk.I was told it should be directly to the block?? I do have some weird electrical stuff going on,nothing major(I don't think)

Old 02-05-2015, 08:15 AM
2nd Gear member

you can run a piece of AWG 10 from the trunk to the frame and from the frame to the block
I made a junction block for all my ground wires. 1 wire from the negative post on the battery to the junction block and then a wire from front and rear of the body, one for the frame and one for the engine block

Last edited by flat tire; 02-05-2015 at 08:21 AM.
Old 02-05-2015, 08:21 AM

Thanks!

Old 02-05-2015, 09:04 AM
4th Gear Member

Eight gauge would be better and better if actual run from the battery to the block - the current path is relying on body panels and the spot welds.
If you have a mechanical volt regulator, adjust it for the correct voltage at the battery posts, not elsewhere.
There is cable loss and connection loss of current.

If you have an internal reg'd alt, run the 12 GA sense wire to battery + post.

Old 02-05-2015, 10:06 AM
1st Gear Member

I would run a 4 gauge cable to the front and attach to the block. I would also Ground it in the trunk, from the block to the frame, from the frame to the body, from the block to the radiator core support. Having done low voltage systems most of my life and seen the horror stories of not properly grounded vehicles having electrical issues. From the factory there were several grounds and I would put them back on... I have covered most of them here...

Old 02-05-2015, 10:42 AM
2nd Gear member