Minitub; rear 4link setup needed?

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 11:11 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Minitub; rear 4link setup needed?

Hi, I have a 68 Camaro that im starting, new metal going on soon with mini tubs.. need to have the 4 link suspension setup measurements prior to tubbing...

I am looking for a full suspension backage (front subframe, subframe connectors, and the 4 link suspension) would also like disc brakes setup on them and a 9" housing

I keep looking around and come across tci, heidts, the proG, and the prodigy bar...do these places custom cut the rear to fit larger tires, or how would I go about setting up a build sheet to show my metal guy what is needed..?

Im looking for as much tire as I can fit in, which would it be? 345?

rear frame rails are going to be replaced on the body also..

I am new to all this, and this is my first project.
First order of business is all metal redone, but need the rear 4link incorporated in the process as the minitubs go in.

other info; fuel tank will not be in place, a fuel cell will be going in..

thanks for any input; here is the link to my project; Pictures by juarch328 - Photobucket (photobucket)

Old 04-12-2011, 06:51 PM
In the Staging Lanes

whew! that's a mighty ambitious build sheet for a first project. I'm going to make an assumption here by the complete suspension/frame replacement you are looking for a roadrace/autocross/resto-mod setup. On that assumption, a Lateral-G three link suspension is said (from the reading and opinions I've heard) to be alot better for road track performace. A four link tends to bind when the suspension twist from the torque of cornering. The three link allows for the spring and shocks to take the cornering torque not the suspension bind. I estimated an installed price for the three-link (kit, tubs, narrowed rear, DTE "mini-tub" tank) at about 7500$ using my stock 12bolt w/factory drum brakes.