Help

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2017, 04:26 PM
Default Help

Hello,
My name is James Zetts and I recently fulfilled a life long dream and purchased a 1969 Camaro. I reside in NC but purchased the car from Indiana.
Needless to say, it needs ....some work. For about 2 weeks I have been moving it in and out of my garage. My intent is to clean the clutter out of the garage so I have some room
to make minor repairs. I am not a mechanic. The best that I can tell is that it has a 427 cu ( year 1966 motor ). 4 speed with (I was told 342 ?? rear end ) .
Yesterday shortly after I started it, it began to miss and black smoke poured out of both exhausts. I panicked and shut it off. Then I checked the oil and that seemed ok. Everything looked ok.
I tried to restart it without success. I thought that the gas may have gone bad - syphoned that out and replaced. I cleaned the plugs and re-gaped . They were fouled with black soot.
My daughter tried to help me start the car through out the day. It finally did start and I sprayed about a 1/2 can of gumout in the carburator. It still missed badly and 'some' black smoke
continued to come out the exhaust. It stalled out. Won't start. Does anyone know what I should try next ? My sincere thank you in advance for your help.

Old 10-30-2017, 05:39 PM
4th Gear Member

Welcome, James, to the Club.
Congrats on the buy.
Black usually means too much fuel. Maybe a float stuck open due to debris between the needle and seat or a broken float never shutting off fuel flow when bowl gets full.
Some OE carbs, (Original Equipment) have a filter where the fuel line connects, or maybe an aftermarket filter in fuel line between pump and carb inlet.
Sometimes filter is missing.
If overfueling, there may be fuel coming out the vent tube in the air horn of carb - the bologna sliced tube.
You will need to dry plugs before starting again.

Old 10-31-2017, 10:09 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club