Engine time

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2008, 01:25 AM
Default Engine time

Ok I'm new to the fourms and this is my first restoration project ever. I have a 68 camaro ss sitting with striped intirior and no engine..I want to start with the engine but I need some suggestions on what to drop in her..I was considering a 350SB but Im not shure about this. Any helpfull ideas?

Old 05-26-2008, 09:45 AM
Default RE: Engine time

I have similar aspirations as you. I don't own a Camaro yet, but my plan is to find a fairly decent body and drop in a fuel injected GM crate engine, such as the small block "Ram Jet 350". It's rated at 350 hp and 400 lbs torque. 9.4:1 compression. I don't know the price of it, but I would suspect it would be around $5k-7k. Here's a link to this engine on GM's website. Good luck and keep us posted on what you decide.

Ram jet 350

Old 05-26-2008, 04:03 PM

I also have a 68 RS with carb 350 (not original) and am thinking of going with a fuel injected down the road. I have looked at the Ram Jet 350 online and at a place near by the price is right at $5000 plus or minus, here of late it has been $5200. I dont know much about dropping it in but from some of the online info it seems to be an all inclusive crate motor minus motor mounts, adequate fuel supply and return etc.

Old 05-27-2008, 11:49 AM

Thank you Seeburg, but I am curious..whats tha max HP I could push that engine to?I know its impossible to give a perfect number but an estimate?

Old 05-27-2008, 12:57 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr

Guys, before you go too deep into this, mind you I am not try to de-sway any one, whatever number you come up with on the project....multiply by 2.5.

The new motor will need all new parts. And a fuel delivery system. New ront end to handle the mill, new rear to handle the mill, next thing you know you will be calling paint shops about estimates. And the list goes on.

Unless you guys have money to spend - in which case disregard what I just said.