Interior Overhaul (Paint it black)

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2012, 07:04 PM
Post Interior Overhaul (Paint it black)

Hello all! I've been trolling these forums here for many months, and I figured that I should make an account and post something!

I was interested in doing an overhaul for my interior, however the threads that had information on it was vague at best, so I decided to do it anyways and post the results.

I own a 1997 camaro RS that comes stock with grey seats and a boring grey interior. I decided to spice things up a bit by doing an overhaul of the interior and repainting it all black, the results were great!

To start things off Here is a pic of my car:
Name:  4WHui.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  132.8 KB

What I decided to do was use was Duplicolor which is a vinyl/fabric paint that works very well!

Here is a picture of the interior of my car as it was before the overhaul:
Name:  lmaR1.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  151.2 KB

I unbolted and removed the seats to begin painting them. I used a whisk broom to remove any large particles of junk that may have been left on the seat. I sprayed 3 layers of duplicolor on the seats. This picture is after layer two, contrasting the painted seat with the unpainted one.
Name:  e83Un.jpg
Views: 134
Size:  173.9 KB

I removed and painted the interior side panels. For any large scratch I used 800 grit sandpaper, and I used 1200 grit for the rest of the panel so that the duplicolor had something to stick to. Importantly, I used a damp paper towel on the panel after sanding it in order to remove the fine pieces of vinyl that were removed from the high grit sandpaper.
Name:  gLNLp.jpg
Views: 34
Size:  96.2 KB

It looks pretty nice when it's in the car.
Name:  X9UhT.jpg
Views: 36
Size:  105.1 KB