Professional Racing NASCAR, Formula 1, Sprint, Rally & Off Road, SCCA Auto X, Le Mans, Pro Stock, Cart, Drag, IROC, etc.

Autocross Anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2006, 08:36 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Autocross Anyone?

Hey.. I was wondering if anyone else here autocrosses their camaro? Ive been into autocrossing for a while and just got my first Camaro.. The other cars I autocross is a 1972 Superbeetle with alot of suspension, and a pretty stock 85 200sx Turbo..

Old 02-18-2007, 09:38 PM
Default RE: Autocross Anyone?

Did you get any info about autocrossing a Camaro?

I just got a 97 Z and I was thinking about autocrossing it but I do not knowwhere to start.

Any info we can share would be great.

Thanks

Old 02-20-2007, 10:52 AM
1st Gear Member

I've been running Autocross for a couple of years now. I haven't done it in my Camaro yet (only had it like 3 weeks to date) but the concepts from the other cars I've done it in should still hold for the most part. (There will be some sticky details for me to work out switching from fwd to rwd, but that's just going to take seat time).

The best thing you can do is just try it. I would go a couple of events and get the feel for your car at the limits like that before you go changing anything. In the Z28, I would expect a lot of on-throttle oversteer I would even expect a fair bit in the v6s in the lower gears, depending on how hard your pushing the car.

Keep your inputs smooth and don't be afraid to hit cones on accident. To shave time you need to get close. Talk to the experienced members there, most likely there will be somebody else who at least has run an F-body, if not currently does who would have some tips.

Old 02-20-2007, 02:33 PM

Can you suggest a website to got to for information on event dates / locations and rules (classes?).