New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

Moving to US, buying a Camaro - Many questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2006, 11:34 AM
Default Moving to US, buying a Camaro - Many questions

Hi there guys!! I'm a rock guitarist from Norway and quite new to the world of muscle cars (living in Norway prices are ridicilous...)
But, I'm moving to LA in two weeks and have been surfing craigslist for weeks, and there's really only one car I want, and that's a Camaro!
Now, do you any of you have some hot tips for what to go for, I'm thinking of a car in the pricerange up to 5000$,
Maybe any of you have any hot tips regarding:

a) how much difference it will be in insurance if I buy
-a V8 or a V6?
-what seems to be the more reliable motors? Knowledgeable people seems to say the V8 is a safer buy bacuse the motors are better and needs less repair than the V6...?
-How much will horsepower make a difference in insurance cost? I h've had no insurance in US before (have lived in LA for a year before but borrowed a car)
-If I buy a convertible

b) What should I consider when looking at cars? Will a 93 Z28 with low mileage be a better buy than a 96/97 Z28 with higher mileage? etc..
I'm planning on bringing a mechanic when shopping around, cause I'm a newbie when it comes to that.

Any help or tips from you guys would be great!!!
I'm especially worried about the insurance cost, since these hot cars seems to be pretty priceywhen it comes to that..

Old 08-01-2006, 11:12 PM
January 2007 ROTM
Default RE: Moving to US, buying a Camaro - Many questions

a) how much difference it will be in insurance if I buy
-a V8 or a V6?

Many factors will be involved.

#1. Your Age
#2. The insurance company that you will use
#3. The coverage that you will be needing
#4. The year of your car
#5. Daily driver or weekend driver
#6. Your driving record ( not sure how that will factor in coming from Norway )