New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

Love the old ones

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2008, 06:01 PM
Default Love the old ones

Hello! I'm a newbie here. I am the original owner of a LeMans Blue 1969 Camaro 350 SS 4-speed. When I bought my car, I was 21 years old. Now I'm 60...............and that sucks! Oh well, it happens. Anyway, I ordered my car at the Saigon PX with $250 down and picked it up in San Francisco at Les Vogel Chevrolet after I processed out of the Army. The total cost was $3377 with payments of $67 per month. Those days are long gone but not the thrill ofdriving my Camaro. I love going to cruise nights and local car shows and have wonlots of "Dust Collectors" with it. It is also the centerfold in Steve Statham's Camaro book and was used in a GM 2004 Calendar. I tell you this, not to brag, but to make a point to some of you who are fixing one up. My car was hit in 1979 and was considered a "total" by my insurance company. Of course I could not part with it that way, so I fought back and won enough in settlement to fix it. It took me six years, and I did everything but thepaint by myself. It was a labor of love, as they say. So, if it seems your projectis too much, or is taking too long, maybe you don't love it enough. Whether you "hot rod" it, or restore it to it's original condition, stay with it. The payoff is the fun and personal satisfaction at the end. And, if you're an old guy,it could keep you young!

Old 01-31-2008, 06:56 PM
4th Gear Member
Default RE: Love the old ones

nice car and a great story! welcome to the forums! hey i dunno if you like forth gens but check out my rides!!!!

Old 01-31-2008, 07:00 PM

That is a beautiful camaro. Good decision to fix it up after the accident

Old 01-31-2008, 08:59 PM
1st Gear Member

that is one nice camaro, do you ever take that car to the Show and Go car show in riverside???are you in the Old Farts car club???

[IMG]local://upfiles/6679/A3DF922A18D04B2BA769C2685509D83E.jpg[/IMG]