New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

Hey everyone!

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2007, 08:51 PM
Default Hey everyone!

Hello! I figured I'd stop in here and introduce myself, since I'm sure I'll be pretty active on these forums! My name is Jimmy, I'm a college student and I work for myself fixing computers. So if you guys have any computer questions, send them my way!

Here in NY, our winters are getting less and less cold, so in October I started thinking about picking up a car to tinker with over the winter. I have a '75 Pontiac GrandVille convertible, but it's really only a summer car, so I wanted something relatively cheap, a good amount of power, that's fun and easy to work on. I ended up finding a '79 Z28, and the owner was asking a little more than $2k I believe. It has some body damage on the passenger side, and will definitely need a new door and some repairs to the quarter, but there was no frame damage. The paint is terrible, but the rust is minimal. What attracted me to the car was the engine/trans, which is a professionally built 350 (bored over to 355). I don't have all of the info about it, but it makes 400+ horses. It also has a 3 speed slapstick and a 10 bolt posi with 4:11 gears. I ended up negotiating the owner down to $1600.

Now for the bad part.. like I said, I wasn't looking for a serious project, just something that I could drive and tinker with at the same time. I drove the car half way home, and was having some problems with it stalling, but it was sitting for a year and was only started up once a month or so, so it needed a good tune. I decided to get some gas, just incase the guage was off.. and after filling it up, I noticed that it was leaking gas.. from the tank it looked like I was pretty bummed, because I started realizing that this was going to be more of a project than I had wanted. I had it towed back to my house.