New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

96 Z28 long story

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2008, 02:00 PM
Default 96 Z28 long story

Hello All,

My name is James and I have been into cars and "hot rodding" for about 17 years now. My Dad and Mom both are/were car freaks. I started out working on a severely rusted out 69 fastback mustang, when completed turned the wrenches onto a then not so used 88 LX 5.0, a year later a 91 LX 5.0, a year after that a 94 Camaro (V6--insurance at the time), then got the 96 Z28 when I graduated high school as a gift from my Dad. It has been through a lot of various stages, both fast and broken. It also has a lot of sentimental value as it was my fathers dream when he found out my Mom was going to have a boy that he wanted to buy me a Z28 one day.

The first month I had it, I installed gears, headers, full catback, MTI 4 inch cold air, and a bored out throttle body. From there over the next 5 years the project just grew until life took its course and I began to neglect the car.

6 years ago I popped two of the cylinders in a money race and it sat while I bought and drove around a 01 Civic. Trust me that took some getting used to. But I learned how to turn a car as I began to focus on SCCA road races and auto-X. The cost to fix the Z was too much for me to bear at the time so it sat. I met my wife a year later in 2002 and in 2003 we got engaged to be married in 2004. That same year we decided to build a house to move into when we got married. We needed some more money to come up with 25% down payment. I called my Dad and said "hey, I am stuck between a rock and a hard spot. I need to come up with about 6,000 more for the house and I am thinking about selling the hotrod but I am seriously conflicted about it. What should I do?" My Dad, for the first time, told me he could not answer that for me. Not what I was looking for.