LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

Just Another Overheating LT1 :-/

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2010, 12:59 PM
Angry Just Another Overheating LT1 :-/

Alright, i have been researching and trying things for the past six months to try and get this car to run under normal temperatures... but still no luck. I am at the point now that i am ready to pull the heads and check the gaskets and get the heads checked, but i don't want to go that route if i don't need to..

Here is a list of things replaced...

Thermostat (180)
Temp Sending unit
Radiator
Radiator Cap
Water pump

I have flushed that system over three different times and two of those times i flushed the heater core as well. Ive filled it up and bled the system as i have read how to do under another forum. still no luck.

Here is what it is doing from start up.. I will start the car and the temp will slowly rise until it gets just a little bit above the second mark on the gauge. then both fans will come on full speed (ive looks and seen them both spinning) then the temp will drop slowly back down to just a hair above the first mark. it will remain at that temp until the fans turn off and then it will rise a little above that second mark again. now this is when im idleing and cruising around not going over 1/4 throttle..

But when i come to a hill or "start having a little fun". even with the fans running it will still go beyond that second point and the temp will continue to rise and not stop until i let off or pull over.. then the fans have no problem cooling it down again. and it will also ride right on the second mark if im driving over 65 mph.

it does not lose any coolant, and it does not leak coolant from anywhere. the exhaust does not smell like coolant nor does it drip any type of fluid from the tail pipes. and the oil is nice and full and fresh.

i really appreciate any help i can get to fix this head ache..

Old 11-23-2010, 02:20 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner