LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

Insurance Rates?!?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2009, 12:38 AM
Default Insurance Rates?!?

Hello My name is Derek and I just joined minutes ago. I do not own a Camaro...yet. I have found this beauty and will possibly be purchasing within the next couple weeks.

I however have reservations because I am worried what the insurance rates are going to be. If anyone could help me out by giving me an approximation that would be awesome.

I am 17 Years old and will turn 18 in August. I drive on average 10 miles(Tops) everyday but that will be less due to summer break. I am an A student that is very responsible. I am the only person that would be driving the car and it would be my premiere car. I could possibly be put on my parents policy. The car in question has 150XXX miles. It is an Auto.

Im not sure what else an insurance company looks for.

Thanks for your time and your help is EXTREMELY appreciated.
-Derek

Old 05-17-2009, 07:16 AM
2nd Gear member

I do not know how much it is for a V8 camaro but it will be alot. I had a 86 Monte Carlo when i turned 19 and it cost me $500 a month to keep insured. You will get some discounts because it has more safty features but you should not be surprised if comes out to close to three grand a month. Call around to your local insurance agents and get a quote.

Old 05-17-2009, 07:24 AM
4th Gear Member

It is going to cost a arm & leg because of your age and the car you are going with. Check for Insurance quotes before you buy. The only way to know for sure, just my guess it is goingto be about $150/$300 per month.

Old 05-17-2009, 07:48 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

You want to be on your parents policy. You will need to get a quote from their insurance agent. Even where you live can greatly effect the cost of your policy. You will pay a ton more in Philly then you would in Dayton. For me my insurance would double if I lived 30 miles to the south of where I live.