LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

help please car hits a certain temp and shuts off

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 08:25 PM
Default help please car hits a certain temp and shuts off

97 z28. the camero will fire up and idol to operating temp no problem, but if i give it throttle to heat up faster it shuts off at 160 deg. it has new fuel pump, filter, several sensors under hood, opti spark, water pump, radiator. im kinda stumped right now. thanks
mike

Old 05-07-2010, 09:41 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

have u had it scanned for trouble codes?

Old 05-07-2010, 09:57 PM
1st Gear Member

are you saying ...leave the car idle until 195, and get in and drive no problems.
then ,
you start the car cold and take off like a normal person,and it will die at 160 every time?

that is very strange! usually strange problems like that are grounds ...
but they will tend to not be soo temp specific.
i've never seen opti-spark, but i'm no expert on what is for sale.
with the cap and rotor in front of the engine and if it's not been apart in a long time they are realy picky about collecting moisture and the cap realy needs to be well sealed and the vacuum line checked for vacuum.
if that's no problem check crank sensor or wires in the connector.
even a faulty cam sensor set-up. i was reading up a little on that opti-drive, looks pretty slick, but they get pretty technical and expanitory about how to set up the rings for the shealds and rings. but that would case more problems than what your saying, you would think

it's always so simple ... once you find the problem.

Old 05-08-2010, 06:18 AM

I see this a lot on all the other forums. Try replacing the icm Sounds like it is breaking down when it gets hot. Which all the lt1's are bad for.

Does it have to cool before starting back up? If so sounds like it. You can get it hot and take a bag of ice and put on it for a quick test.

Old 05-08-2010, 06:25 AM
4th Gear Member

I don't think the issue has been detailed sufficiently.