LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

Auto to manual trans swap clarification

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2009, 03:27 PM
Default Auto to manual trans swap clarification

I did some searching and did not find any real conclusive guide to swapping out the factory slushbox for a t-56. I am VERY farmiliar with a/t to m/t conversions is other RWD cars (nissan 240sx in particular) and I am also a mechanic and have access to the shop whenever I need so the difficulty of the install is not really a big concern to me.

First off exactly what parts are necessary. I would assume:
-trans
-flywheel & flywheel bolts
-clutch kit & pressure plate bolts
-driveshaft???
-crossmember
-clutch pedal assembly
-brake pedal???
-clutch master and slave
-clutch line and hose

I have question marks by the driveshaft and the brake pedal because those are parts that are necessary on the 240sx, but I am not sure would be on the camaro. On the 240 you can also simply trim the brake pedal rather then swapping it out. If the pedal is, in fact, different between a/t and m/t camaros can it simply be trimmed as well?

Second, what needs to be done electrically? On the 240sx (s-13) all you have to really do is swap the ecu and wire up the reverse lights. In my searching here I have read that you can simply get your stock ecu on a camaro chipped/re-flashed to eliminate the a/t functions. Is this true? Would this be the cost-effective way to go? My buddy had and lt-1 camaro w/6-speed so I know about the pesky "skip shift" thing. Can that simply be eliminated or do I have to wire it up and buy the stopper kit? What else needs to be wired up and how difficult is it to do? I know the parts are not going to be nearly as cheap as I am used to with my 240, but I can get a 95 camaro for REALLY cheap right now so unless we are talking about $2000 + I am really not that concerned.

Last edited by racepar1; 05-19-2009 at 03:31 PM.
Old 05-24-2009, 04:52 PM