General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

need help

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2005, 08:51 PM
Default need help

i have a 68 camaro with a 350 in it replaced cam and new distributor. my problem is it pops out of carb. now timing is off and i cant seem to correct the problem. correct me if im wrong cuz im not a mechanic by all means top dead center is when the #1 cylinder is all the way up and rotor button points at the #1 cylinder. i have did this and still pops out the carb . can anybody help me ?

Old 08-12-2005, 10:27 PM
Tech Droid
Default RE: need help

OK. We are going to assume that the cam is timed right, otherwise all bets are off.
Not only does the #1 piston has to be all the way up, but both valves have to be closed, otherwise you could be 180 degrees out. I don't know about a button on the distributor rotor, but the metal wiper on the rotor should point to #1 cylinder. Check that all wires are in according to the firing order and in accordance to the distributor rotation. Take the distributor cap off, crank the engine & note wich direction the distributor spins.
You could also have a lean condition which will make your carb spit back

Old 08-13-2005, 11:50 AM

not sure what your saying as far as the cam being timed right?
when both valves are closed are the valve springs open or closed?
the distubutor turns clockwise thanks for your help hopefully i will get this car running

Old 08-13-2005, 02:53 PM
Tech Droid

The cam is timed right when the mark on the crank timing chain sprocket point directly up and the mark on the cam sprocket points directly down. In other words, they should be pointing directly at each other, crank up cam down.
Keep in mind that the back end of the cam drives the distributor.

The valves are closed when the springs are extended out, pulling the valve closed,