General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

I have quite a few problems... restoration

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 06:17 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Cool I have quite a few problems... restoration

Ok so I have a 98 camaro 3.8 which I've owned for a little less than a year now. It was
passed down to me from my father when the crankshaft in the engine went bad. He told me if I could fix it I could keep it. Needless to say I removed the engine and sent it off to get repaired and rebuilt. Now I have been driving the car for about 8 months and am starting to encounter a few problems, both with engine and drivetrain. I want to restore my cam back to original and I have a pretty long list so I hope you guys dont mind ill try to keep it as simple but as detailed as possible!

1st: I have noticed that when I am driving and press down on the brakes heavily it pulls slightly to the right and if i press the brakes hard enough to lock the wheels, the rear end fishtails to the left. Not that I lock my brakes often but im not sure if thats supposed to happen. Also I've noticed that the right front wheel often collects more brake dust than the left wheel. any suggestions?

2nd: As I mentioned before I had my engine rebuilt about 8 months ago and just recently I started hearing a light ticking sound in the engine. I know that cams of my year have a problem with lifters but im hoping thats not it since its fairly new and shouldnt have that problem. I added some oil to the motor cuz it was a little low on oil but the noise stil persists. It is a ticking sound that can be heard form idle up to 2rpm. No engine lights are on and oil pressure is fine.