Engine & Internal Cams, heads, valvetrain, rotating assemblies. Chat about beefing up your insides here.

rebuilding a 305..need some guidance.

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2008, 07:15 PM
Default rebuilding a 305..need some guidance.

i just pulled my 305 engine (92 camaro rs) and id like to rebuild it. the thing is im not that experienced and i could use some help. it would probably be cheaper to buy a complete engine and pop it in but then how would i learn. the problem i have is that i wanna buy parts but i dont know what to look for or what brands i should try to get. id like to make it pretty powerful but at a resonable price. so with that said i start with a bare small block....now i have to get a cam and crankshaft,etc....how do i know which ones to get that will increase power more than others and help me reach my goal of making it a pretty bad a** engine?

Old 09-12-2008, 10:15 PM
3rd Gear Member
Default RE: rebuilding a 305..need some guidance.

The first thing I would think about is possibly finding a 350 to rebuild instead of the 305. Since the machining costs and everything else is the same price the 350 will be a better platform to make power with. Additional stuff to think about is what power level do you want , how much do you want to spend?

Old 09-12-2008, 10:50 PM

im not really sure this is my first time rebuilding an engine and im goin into it basically blindfolded considering i dont have that much knowledge about this sort of stuff. but id like to learn. as for the cost i dont really know....how much do you think id end up spending to make a descent engine but nothing too crazy. i mean i could just buy an engine already made but whats the fun in that and i wont learn anything. oh and one more thing why a 350? wouldnt keeping the 305 keep the car as numbers matching?

Old 09-14-2008, 09:53 AM
3rd Gear Member