Engine & Internal Cams, heads, valvetrain, rotating assemblies. Chat about beefing up your insides here.

Ignition question. Non camaro related.

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2009, 07:30 AM
Question Ignition question. Non camaro related.

I figured I would ask my fellow camaro enthusiasts this question. I may have been thinking too technical and too hard but I just want a second opinion on some advice I had given a good friend of mine. I went to Nashville Auto Diesel College and I am no expert by any means. I tend to think about a problem too much when it occurs. A friend of mine has a stock 89 dodge 1/2 ton truck that he decided to replace the coil, wires, with MSD and replaced the plugs with a set of E3 plugs. Once he had finished replacing, he had a terrible miss. I went back over his work per say because he isnt very mechanically inclined at all, and all the wires and coil connections were tight and in order. He replaced the stock stuff with the higher voltage coil and the 8.5 wires, but still had a cheaper advanced auto cap and rotor. My suggestion was to get a performance cap and rotor also and it may take care of his miss. I figured it could be possible that when the higher voltage was too much for the cheaper cap. I just wanted to get a second opinion or maybe even some more advice.

Old 10-11-2009, 09:15 AM
Tech Droid

If the voltage is increased more stress results on insulation, which could lead to crossfires/mis fires. So going to a better cap & rotor may help. Also with high power ignition there is the problem of induced voltage from one wire to the one next to it. Better insulation will not help in this case but proper wire spacing and routing will. There is also a possibility that some of the new parts including plugs could be bad or improperly gapped. All the hype about multiple plug electrodes is just that, hype. Electricity always follows the path of least resistance and it is almost impossible for all electrodes and gaps to be exactly equal.