Engine & Internal Cams, heads, valvetrain, rotating assemblies. Chat about beefing up your insides here.

Build Motor or Purchase Crate Engine?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 11:55 AM
Default Build Motor or Purchase Crate Engine?

Good Morning:
I thought I'd start a lively discussion as we approach the New Year.
Realize that I'm not a mechanic; have limited mechanical abilities, that will never change, so most work is being done by a shop/professional.
I'm at a point where I either need to have someone rebuild the current 350 engine that is 40 over with 2 bolt mains. Has old style double hump iron heads, mild crane cam (350 HP sbc recreation), 670 holley street avenger carb and edelbrock torquer manifold, hei ignition.
The current engine is very plain vanilla. My thought is that it's not really worth putting more money into. However, I'm not Ted Turner's long last son (unfortunately), so I don't have unlimited funds for our car at this time.
Many people that I know build their own cars and have told me that it was more economical to purchase a crate engine than buy all the parts and build from scratch. That’s up for debate
I would like a 400-425 HP SBC motor. I want something that will be fun to drive and something that I can take to the 1/8 or 1/4 strip once in awhile. Don't want anything too radical because we want to drive the car and enjoy it. We will be upgrading/rebuilding rear end with either a 3.73 or 4.10 posi that will go with a built 700R4 (OD for cruising) to replace our Turbo 400.
QUESTIONS:
1. Should I rebuild current engine or purchase a crate engine
2. If a crate engine, what should I be looking for or evaluating regarding the shop or business providing the motor? (GM, Blueprint, Patriot, ATK High Perf Engines)
3. Can you recommend a good, engine builder? Would prefer the DFW Area, but I’m open at this point in time.
Right now, I am building a spreadsheet to show the costs of all options available to me.