Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.

Complete Detail Instruction?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2009, 11:47 PM
1st Gear Member
Question Complete Detail Instruction?

OK, I have a white 98 Paint in 'good' shape for being 11 years old.
I'll be the first to admit that I'm new to detailing a car, Not to digress, but my first vehicle was a Ford Bronco that looked the best covered in mud. As I read through the threads I get more and more confused about the whole detailing process. I'm unsure about claybars because I have never used one. Nor a polish/glaze for that matter. I want more than that wash and wax look.

I'd greatly appreciate if someone could shed some light on the complete detail process for me. Such as order, and instructions. Also would you claybar every time? or only sometimes? and how often?

One more thing, what would be the best idea for a new car as well?
My buddy wants to detail his 2 month old black mazda3.
I know black can be ruined by swirls, but that is the extent of my knowledge.

Thank you, and yes, i know I'm a n00b.

Old 06-16-2009, 12:35 PM
4th Gear Member

Detailing is a lot more than just wash, clay, wax.... But if that's what you're thinking of.... Wash the car, clay bar it... The WHOLE thing... Wash it again... Wax it. Only do small portions at once because if you let the wax dry for more than 5 minutes it's a huge pain to get off.

I would advise going and buying an orbital buffer.

Simple... And I only clay bar my car twice a year.... And I paste wax it every 3 months.

It's not HARD to do... Just very time consuming

Old 06-16-2009, 04:18 PM

go to detailcity.org they have lots of information about what to do and they are very helpful if you ask questions, you can also buy professional detailing supplies from there

Old 06-24-2009, 11:17 PM
3rd Gear Member

Check out this link http://www.adamspolishes.com/t-videos.aspx