Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. Let's hear about it here.

subwoofer and amp question

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2008, 11:35 PM
The Jazz Man
ROTM Winner's Club
Default subwoofer and amp question

Here's the low down. When I bought my Camaro, it had an amplifier in the back. It's a JBL amp, and according to the website, it is 150 watt single channel amp, with two outputs. I don't listen to music very often when I'm driving, so this seems to have enough power for me. The problem is that there was no sub. I just want a little extra "kick" to my music. Would 2 small subs, or 1 large one be recomended? Tube or box? I'm completely new to all this, so any help is nice. I'm on a budget that doesn't really exist, so I'll be buying used ones, or shopping at discount websites. The amp was seemingly professionally installed. Should I keep this amp too? I've heard JBL is a good brand. Thanks in advance!

Old 04-02-2008, 07:09 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: subwoofer and amp question

well bro im not gunna lie to you. 150 watt watts coming out isnt gunna power much of anything. If your not into pounding that much and just want a clear, crisp sound, i would invest in some nice speakers for your doors and the back seat and amp those. If you buy 3-way speakers you can get your bass from them too by just lowering the mid and highs from them. But if u insist on having bass, I would look into a Bazooka Tube. Its a little tube with an 8 or 10 inch sub in it that has a built in amp that will power it. Finding where to put the tube is the hard part though

Old 04-02-2008, 07:17 PM
The Jazz Man
ROTM Winner's Club

I've already got 3-ways, so that is covered. I just saw the amp, and thought I sould hook something to it. I can't afford to buy another amp and sub, so I thought I'd use what I had.

Old 04-02-2008, 08:02 PM
1st Gear Member