93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

service engine soon light came on!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2009, 09:05 AM
Default service engine soon light came on!!

ok im new to camaros in fact its my first car only benn driven 3 times since ive gotten it and it runs great but when i was coming home last night my service engine soon light came on, the car didnt act weird or anything it still drove like it normally did, nothing died,clicked,etc etc. being that its my first car i dont really know anything about it. so im wondering if that light just means its a sensor in the car.

my brother drives a 98 mustang and his check engine light came on a while back but its just a sensor his o2 sensor actually but his car still drives as good as the day he bought it.

so my question is, is the service engine light to my car as the check engine light is to my brothers.

i have to drive a good 30 miles today and im just wondering if my car is alright.

please help

thank you

by the way my car is the base model 98 camaro v6 with a z28 xenon body kit and flowmaster duals

Old 12-19-2009, 10:20 AM
Tech Droid

Your best bet is to get it scanned and see what it is complaining about. It could be something like a bad gas cap to something that can leave you stranded.

Old 12-19-2009, 10:20 AM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

The SES light means that something is bad and affecting how the engine is running, or how the air/fuel mix is being handled. It could be one of many sensors, a fuel injector, plugs, wires, ignition coil, wiring issue, fuel pressure regulator, fuel filter, fuel pump, catalytic converter, even a bad gas cap. And maybe something else that escapes me at the moment.
You need to get the car scanned so you can narrow down your guessing field. Don't just start throwing parts at it with the hopes it'll fix it. You most likely won't get that lucky, unless you can see one of those "that doesn't look right" kind of problems.