93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

RUNNING OUT OF IDEAS!!! Need HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2011, 11:30 AM
Unhappy RUNNING OUT OF IDEAS!!! Need HELP!

I have a 95 Camaro, 3.4L V6 that will not start correctly. I thought it was fuel related, so I dropped the exhaust, tank, etc. The fuel pump is working. I pressure tested it and it is holding 41 steady. So I put all that back together.

Checked the fuel filter and it was discusting, so I replaced it and figured that maybe there was build up somewhere in the lines or a clogged injector. Replaced injectors, blew out all the lines in the fuel rail. Still won't start correctly. It turns over, but if it does run, it runs rough (almost like it isn't running on all the cylinders).

So I figured it was electrical. Replaced plugs and wires, all fuses and relays. I replaced the fuel pressure regulator....double checked the injectors, (which resulted in a small fire....NICE!!!--Don't tease me, I'm a mechanic in training!)

Anyway, still no luck. Had the battery and alternator checked...they are fine. Replaced the Coolant sensor and the crankshaft sensor and checked the timing. Also replaced the coils. STILL NOT COOPERATING!!!!

Replaced the little computer thingie under the driver dash. Tried to have it tested at Autozone for trouble codes, but it wouldn't give the tester any info. Just kept kicking it out of the system.

When I do get it to run (through a series of attempts at turning the car on and off and on and off and on and off until it idles correctly) SHE RUNS LIKE A CHAMP! Seriously....like zero to 75 in less than 7 seconds. No vibration. No cutting out or surging. NO PROBLEMS. Can drive it all over the place. But once I shut her down....forget about it.

Also...Is it normal that I can take my key out of the ignition while driving and the car continues to run perfectly?

Please help me fix my toy!

Last edited by careym; 06-13-2011 at 11:32 AM. Reason: forgot one thing that I replaced