93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Plz help_big engine issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2011, 10:26 PM
Unhappy Plz help_big engine issue

Hello all, I bought a 1997 Camaro Convertible V6 3.8 about 9 months ago from private seller, i drove it normally and did not give any issues until one day it overheated a lot and it started consuming a lot of coolant and showed some white smoke from exhaust... eventually was diagnosed with blown head gasket like from a text book, i bought it as is and i am not very good with mechanic, i just loved the car and went for it =-S... ok i got the head gasket replaced (took 2 heads to machine to clean and stuff) and when i was getting the oil flushed, i was told the water pump was leaking. I drove during weekend to work (5 miles) and back and on Monday went and bought a new water pump and took it to another shop to be installed (for price reasons mostly) and the first thing they did (pump was not leaking anymore) was to check the oil and told me i have water there. I said is not possible, i just changed the head gasket and he suggested the job was not well done and i should take it back to whoever did it.

1. Guy who did the headgasket job says maybe waterpump is putting or, at some moment, had put some water in oil and that explains the water, replacing pump can fix issue.

2. Who i took the car for installing waterpump tells me that W. Pump cannot push water in engine oil and suggested the HG job was not good... eventually he listened to the engine revving and told me i might have a cylinder or block cracked...

So i spent a lot of money in replacing HG and 2 days later i am looking at the possibility of a cracked cylinder/block... so that makes me shiver... i wish i could do this type of things myself.. i have read many threads and i know there are many experts here and i need some direction or suggestions on what to do or alternatives to consider. I apologize if i misused terminology.

Old 03-22-2011, 06:51 PM