93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Need Help 95 3.4 issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2011, 03:52 PM
Exclamation Need Help 95 3.4 issues

Okay so im going to first state that I am new to Camaros. I just bought this 95 Camaro for 400 Originally for the motor to put in my 87 Fiero. I bought the Car, towed it home and then i started trying to figure out what was wrong, it had a loose ground connection and I tightened that up, It still wouldnt start, So i starter looking under the dash (i read somewhere about the security system in them) so i started moving wires around and i found that if I hold the wire harness just right, the Camaro will fire right up, but if i let go of the harness or move it again, it will Die. Does anyone know what the problem could be? I want to fix the Camaro up and then resell it instead of parting it out.

Old 07-25-2011, 04:20 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

1) A broken wire, quite possibly buried deep in a wiring harness.
B) A bad ground wire or loose connection to metal.
3) You're gonna have go to do some dash diving!
From here, it's going to be next to impossible for any of us to pinpoint exactly where your wiring gremlin is hiding.

Old 07-25-2011, 04:48 PM

Ah bummer, i was hoping it would be a common Camaro problem.. I guess ill go diving some more.. would I be better off going to the junkyard and pulling a harness from one of those cars, or just cutting up the existing one and solder in some new wiring?

Old 07-25-2011, 09:05 PM

Well, I THINK i found the problem, its one of the heavier gauge wires going above the steering column, There are 2 Pink, a Yellow,a Red, and a Brown, maybe a few others. But I dont know where it leads too, but i can trace the wires with my hand and when i get to about where they connect and its hot as hell. So im assuming thats where the short is, but I dont know what it is, OR how to get to it, Any ideas would be wonderful.

Old 07-25-2011, 09:24 PM
Senior Moderator