93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Hi all. I'm new to cars and have a few questions bout my 95 3.4L

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2008, 01:06 AM
Default Hi all. I'm new to cars and have a few questions bout my 95 3.4L

Ok, so let me start out by saying I'm very new to the car world. I've wanted to get into cars for the last year or so but I have no idea how to begin. I'm going to be going up to the race track here in Tucson to check some stuff out as many saturdays asI can. My Dad is also helping me out with all this new car stuff, he owned a Boss 302 Mustang that he raced before he had me show up and ruin his fun.

Now about the car. I have 95 3.4L Camaro. I have put a K&N Intake on, new radiator and upper and lower hoses, new thermostat, new catalytic converter, and flowmaster on. I did all of those so I have some basic understanding of what's in the car. I have a couple big things I want to do to the car in this order:

New Engine
New transmission
New rear axle (swap from drum to disk brakes)
New sound system/head unit.

He was showing me some custom 6 cylinders with larger pistons and other things done that gave them some mad HP in the March YearOne magazine.

Is it best to get a new engineand transmission from someone like yearone?

How about the best place to get parts for the car? (Summit Racing was really good with my converter, intake, and exhaust)

Are there any like constantly updated Camaro sites with people rebuilding a 3.4L?

Would anyone know what kinda of cost I'd be looking at here (without sound system)? like 2k, 5k, 10k, etc.?

These are a few questions I have for now. If anyone that knows a lot about this kind of work would like to PM me and help me out on a more one to one basis that'd be real cool too. I'd really appreciate the help! (I kinda want to beat my friend's new 98 Trans Am with a 6 cylinder lol)

Old 03-25-2008, 01:17 AM
Default RE: Hi all. I'm new to cars and have a few questions bout my 95 3.4L