93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Good wheels for supercharged v6?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 02:48 PM
Default Good wheels for supercharged v6?

Ok, so i recently purchased a supercharger, lower intake, and headers (getting cat back and low compression heads before i make the full install) but since i'm going to have such an increase in power, i was thinking that the stock aluminum wheels might be too light to give me good traction. I'm no expert on wheels, but i do know the z28's have alloy wheels which are heavier even tho they're light in compared to others, but i was wondering if anyone has suggestions for good wheels that will give me good traction without weighing down the car too much. I've seen a lot guys put the c5 or c6 wheels, which i'd think would be good since they're for a vette, but just looking for some expertise on it, thanks.

Old 10-31-2010, 02:51 PM
November 2010 ROTM
October 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Wheels don't affect traction, only tires do. I don't think that a supercharged v6 will have traction problems though. If you don't mind me asking, what motor did you supercharge? Got any pics?

Old 10-31-2010, 02:59 PM
3rd Gear Member

How about these? 10.5 inch wide rear wheels with sticky tires will get you great traction.
http://www.oewheelsllc.com/Wheels-fo...01776-3-1.html

Old 10-31-2010, 06:18 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

As stated rims have nothing to do with traction. The Larger diameter corvette wheels are for improved handling. The thin side walls help going around corners. You want tall tire walls for launchs.

Your rear does effect your traction. Your V6 most likely has an open rear, you would want to upgrade to a posi.

I would love to hear more about the super charger. Are you going with an intercooler? Any pics? Hopfully it is not the M90 off a 3800 FWD car. We get about 2 people a month wanting to put those on.

Old 11-01-2010, 02:49 AM
4th Gear Member