93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

couple questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2013, 07:55 AM
1st Gear Member
Post couple questions

Ok i have a couple questions to ask im a car noob so dont hate

1st question: I have a k&N CAI and the guy I bought the car from has a smaller tube going into the k&n housing and when i took it off to look inside there is like black motor oil inside the black rubber hose that connects to the sfi lid is this normal or not?

Someone told me a bad pcv valve is the cause of this i just know when where crusing down the road you can smell oil in the air. It dont have an oil leak that i know of i check the oil dipstick the levels are perfect and stay the same.

2nd question: Im having power steering problems its going through about a bottle every week to week and a half. How do I check the hoses to make sure its not the hose? If it is the power steering when will i know i have to replace that? Im just not trying to spend butt loads on a mechanic or on parts i dont necessarily need to buy?

It is a 1995 Camaro 3.4L 5 Speed

Thanks for any help

Old 09-07-2013, 11:13 AM
Overdrive Member

Sounds like someone over-oiled their reusable filter…

PCV is a quick and cheap item to swap out -- inspect yours.

That's a lot of power steering leakage. Are you seeing any puddles under the car?

Old 09-07-2013, 11:30 AM
1st Gear Member

Ill give the pcv a look but the k&n filter is a pain cause I have to jack the car up

and there is fluid being sprayed in the motor compartment and nothin on the ground

Old 09-07-2013, 12:01 PM
Overdrive Member

^ Well on the newer year Camaros, there are fold out flaps for that underside black plastic, you could replace yours with the newer ones making access easier…

Check your PS cap for starters, is there a LOT of liquid all around the reservoir? Do a good power wash/degrease in the engine bay so you can see better where the leaks are.

Old 09-07-2013, 01:25 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner