93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Coil Pack?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2007, 08:55 PM
Default Coil Pack?

Okay guys. I was trying very hard to not seem like a newb but the truth is... I am. At least to the Camaro.

I am a mechanic, just not an auto mechanic. I work on industrial packaging equipment.

But here goes my second concern with this car.

What kind of symptoms would I get with a bad coil pack. From what I see,Chevrolet decided against the classic distributor design that has been so stable for years.

Right now the car runs fine and will even get you down the road for a bit. But without warning, it will stumble and then die. After which, it will not start unless you let it sit and cool down. Only take 5 minutes or so, and it is running like nothing was wrong. Sometimes it will start right back up but will be difficult to start and will run like ****; missing and trying to stall. I keep my foot on the gas peddle to keep it running.

I have noticed that on this 3.8L V6, that all of the plugs are extremely hard to get to. And the coil pack is in a tight spot too. Seems like Chevrolet decided that placing the engine in the dash was the best location. Who knows?

Looks like I will taking this vehicle to a shop to have a tune up done and have the coil pack replaced.

Does this sound like I am on the right track? I would do the work myself but the confined engine compartment doesn't appeal to me.

[IMG]local://upfiles/9258/8A75AFC7125E452395AABF6931FB3C23.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/9258/B93807AEE2934EE5BF91FC6DCA2530BD.jpg[/IMG]

Old 08-07-2007, 06:35 AM
2nd Gear member
Default RE: Coil Pack?

Well hers a list of **** that could be caused from a bad coil pack
* Car suddenly dies and won't restart
* Starts but immediately dies
* Extended cranking to start
* Rough idle
* Sputtering
* Backfiring
* Trouble reaching higher rpm
* Black smoke from exhaust
* Poor performance with car warmed up
* Weak plug wire spark