93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

93 Oil leak problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 09:20 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default 93 Oil leak problem

Hey all, just purchased my first camaro few months ago and got it relatively cheap. When I bought it no leaks were present, but realized after the car starts cooling down it leaks a few drops every time, but not a lot. One mechanic said oil pan had a leak (but wouldnt that be a constant drip?), but I was thinking head gasket? It runs fine until it starts heating up, then the idling goes from 750 rpm down to 550 rpm. I'm new to typical engine problems so any ideas?

P.S.- My wipers only work on high as well, so would that be a wiper motor issue or the switch?

Thanks!

Old 08-18-2009, 09:38 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

550 is about normal for a warmed up engine with a auto trans. idle a little higher when cold. leak could be oil pan, valve covers, intake manifold. head gasket doesnt ussually leak oil to the outside of the motor.

Old 08-18-2009, 09:46 PM
In the Staging Lanes

Alright well thanks for clearing up the rpm thing, other cars I've driven always idle'd at 750 so I was just wondering. And if it was the oil pan wouldnt it be a steady leak?

Old 08-18-2009, 10:03 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Originally Posted by CFallsGuy
And if it was the oil pan wouldnt it be a steady leak?
No, not unless you have a hole lower in the pan, or if it's coming from the drain plug.
If the oil pan is leaking around a gasket or seal, oil will get squeezed out while the engine is running. Then it runs off and drips on the ground. That would also mean that you would have a constant slow drip-drip-drip as you drive. Then when you park it, a few more drips fall. At rest, the oil isn't up that high to be against the gasket, which is why the drips would stop (assuming that's where your leak is).

Old 08-18-2009, 10:26 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr