Carrier bearing and bump stop noise

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2013, 10:40 PM
Default Carrier bearing and bump stop noise

Newbie here trying to find someone that can tell me where to find rear bump stops and a carrier bearing for my 96 3.8 auto. Just bought this car and I found out the bearing is toast and bump stops are gone. I tried all the big chain auto parts but nobody even shows this car to have a carrier bearing. WTF? At least they know it has bump stops but just can't get them. So where do I go from here short of a stealership? Any advise is much appreciated.

Old 10-06-2013, 10:52 PM
November 2010 ROTM
October 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

If your car has a two-piece drive shaft, the carrier bearing is the thing in the middle that flexes. Its cheaper and better to replace with a one-piece drive shaft thats either steel or aluminum. They can be had for under $100. The only place I could get bump stops is the dealership. If your car is stock ride height they probably arent necessary

Old 10-07-2013, 04:51 AM

Thanks Socom. This is my first 4th. Gen so I'm on a learning curve here. I live outside of Dallas and things like driveshafts cost bit more than a lot of areas. Is there a model that the driveshaft is a direct swap without any modifications? Pick-a-Part places ain't all bad lol. As for the ride height??? Just judging by the looks it may be a little low and the rear shocks are almost new but this thing will bottom pretty easy. Scared the crap out of my daughter when she drove it I also thought about air shocks... that would give it a little boost and should stop it from bottoming out. Or I could install those donut type spring spacers. 1" makes quite a difference in ride quality.

Old 10-07-2013, 08:08 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club