What would it take...

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 10:09 PM
1st Gear Member
Default What would it take...

to beat a saleen mustang? My girlfriend lives in a wealthy area and there's a kid whose 18 and his parents bought him a saleen mustang. I'm not sure of the year, but it is one of the newer body saleens so we can assume atleast 05'. Anyways, he drives his car like a madman, flooring it from stop sign to stop sign. I just bought my z28 this weekend, and while right now it's in no condition to race, (only has magnaflows and needs new wheels), I'd love to know what it would take to put the kid in his place. In the near future i'm looking to get a lid, LT's, high flow catted y (i dont think ory would pass inspection), probably keep the magnaflow, put on a set of c6 wheels with nitto 555r drag radials, and higher gears. I'd also look into getting a stall but I don't really know much about them or how they work (i'm a bit of a noob)

edit: I don't think its the supercharged version either.

Old 04-10-2008, 12:22 AM
4th Gear Member
Default RE: What would it take...

Well u have an LS1 right? If so you just need an easy 30+ horsepower and hes yours. If its not charged it has 330hp, if it is you need 130+ horsepower as they have 435hp... and if you are just SOL and its the Extreme you need over 550horses lol.

Old 04-10-2008, 12:53 AM
1st Gear Member

I did a little research and I think the 330 might actually be bhp not rwhp. So maybe the race is closer than I thought already. that would mean he's somewhere around 270-280 rwhp if it's non-sc, which is basically the same as the ls1. Plus I think it weighs about a hundred lbs more. If that's the case Ishould beable totake him with a lid, a good set of wheels, and full exhaust. I know a lot of guys on here do plenty of street racing so I thought I'd get a lot more responses. maybe not.

Old 04-10-2008, 07:27 AM