Valve Cover Gasket Replacement Procedures (94-V6-3.4)

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2012, 05:42 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Valve Cover Gasket Replacement Procedures (94-V6-3.4)

So I just recently replaced my bad valve cover gaskets on my 94 V6 3.4. I took a lot of pics while doing in case I messed up and figured I would turn them into a tutorial of sorts for anyone that was interested. New to this though so dont hate me if I do something wrong.

Since I was a complete noob at anything about cars (didn't even change my own oil or tires) it took me quite a long time to do this job as there is a lot involved. So if you are like me you should take an entire weekend and make sure you dont need this car for a while. If you have worked on cars before it shouldn't be more than a few hours.

Some things you will need :
  • Your new valve cover gaskets
  • You should go ahead and buy an "Intake Gasket Set" (about $20) This will give you gaskets for your upper intake manifold, EGR gasket, and your valve cover gaskets as well
  • Shop Towels / Rags (Always good to have)
  • Socket Wrench with at least 10mm & 13mm sockets (full set is best)
  • Socket wrench extenders and swivels
  • Quick Disconnect tool for the fuel lines (a few dollars at the parts store)
  • Gasket Scraping Tool
  • Drain Pan or bucket(for coolant)
  • Flat Head Screwdriver
  • Assortment of Pliers

Things to do BEFORE you start :
  • Make sure you have a good clean work environment
  • Disconect the negative battery terminal
  • Open your gas tank filler to release gas pressure (more on this later)
  • Drain your coolant (make sure your car is cooled down) ( if you dont know how see below)