Replacing a water pump on LT1

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2017, 01:30 PM
Default Replacing a water pump on LT1

Hello everyone!

I have a water pump issue - it is leaking from the weep hole, but not all the time, most when I start the engine and after the engine is switched off. But the car started to drop much of the water and also it drops to the belt and my power steering fails in any moment of driving and thats is dangerous.

So I decided to not lose any of my expensive ShellZone coolant and to eliminate any road accident.
I want to replace my water pump. And now I need your advice and your great experience too!

I have seen some videos on youtube about how to change water pump on LT1 engine, all of them shoewd this process like very simple, but I'm new to this and still have more questions.
I will try to change my water pump under the sky, cause I have no any garage or pit. But I have a jack and jack stands to lift up any two corners of the car.
First of all I composed some simple list of parts to change within this procedure:
  1. Water pump with two A-style gasckets (they usually go with pump). Need advice which one to buy - ACDelco OEM or some more cheaper one, for example ACDelco Professional.
  2. I think I must have a new thermostate (standard 180 degrees) and a gasket for its housing. Also need to know quality brand.
  3. O-ring seal for the water pump shaft. I don't know one or two I have to change, please help me to understand.
  4. Tool for O-ring seal installation - J39087. Correct me if I am not right please.
  5. Accessory belt, cause I even don't know how much my running on the car. Need advice which one is good to go with.
  6. Also I want to replace my recovery tank, cause it is leaking form its joint, it is not so important but if my hands will become dirty, why not to do it. What do you think?