Passenger door hitting fender

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2015, 03:03 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Passenger door hitting fender

Ever since I got my car back in March 2014, the passenger door has randomly made contact with the fender as if one of them is out of place. The thing is, it usually doesn't do it. I don't normally have a passenger so it's not been high on the priority list, but now it seems to be staying this way, and it's gotten so bad that the door actually bends the back end of the fender and it feels like it might break it if the door is opened fully. Could the fender have gotten pushed backward somehow? How can I go about getting it back into place?

Old 09-24-2015, 05:05 PM
1st Gear Member

Hmm... sounds like either the door hinges are starting to sag, or your body panel is.

I'm still extremely new to this car, so I can't help out much. I do remember reading a few threads, either here or Z28 forums or something like that, where one guy was talking about using body shims on the fenders and quarter panels to get them to line up right.

I don't know if he was talking about just up and down movement, or if that included back and forth adjusting as well. Worth looking into. We're underway right now, so I'm really limited on how much I can help with searching around for links.

I would just take a quick google search of, "Adjusting 4th gen camaro body panel", and starting clicking and reading.

Old 09-24-2015, 06:01 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner