newbie to site and Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2013, 06:46 PM
Default newbie to site and Camaro

I recently inherited my dads 96 and it needs A LOT of engine work... Im noticing a thick rust, almost oil, colored goo on the coolant stick when I check it. When I check the radiator all seems fine inside... Any help here?? and please keep it simple, Im new to this... and a girl. Thank you!!

Old 09-19-2013, 07:48 PM
2nd Gear member

Is it losing coolant at all? I'm a girl too

Old 09-19-2013, 08:03 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Not me!!!! lol.
Welcome to Camaro Forums red. Have your cooling system pressure tested and get the coolant flushed.
It's possible that a previous owner put some of that goopy coolant sealer crap in your reservoir.
Could also be something more serious, but I don't want to scare you quite yet!

Old 09-19-2013, 08:14 PM
2nd Gear member

Are you talking about the reservoir? Even when mine was at the worst, (pre-engine swap) the reservoir was always clean. My first hint of anything was inside the radiator cap. My car held pressure overnight so that wasn't a help.

Old 09-19-2013, 08:19 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

I figured she wasn't reefering to the radiator, since it's the reservoir that has the "coolant stick".

Old 09-19-2013, 08:23 PM
2nd Gear member

Originally Posted by Camaro 69
I figured she wasn't reefering to the radiator, since it's the reservoir that has the "coolant stick".
Mine doesn't have a "stick" :P (she's a she lol)

Old 09-20-2013, 05:46 AM
4th Gear Member

Welcome, Rose.
First item on your list should be a Haynes manual for the model.
This reference material can be bought either at your local parts store or Amazon.
The Owner's Manual tells you how to work the Camaro, the service manual tells you how the Camaro works.

You may just need to flush and rinse the reservior in removing the debris, and as Camaro suggested, get the rest of the coolant system flushed and pressure checked.