New to muscle cars - 1998 Camaro Z28 - Should I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 09:17 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default New to muscle cars - 1998 Camaro Z28 - Should I buy?

Hello Community,

I am new to the Camaro Forums community and to muscle cars in general. Computers is my sweet spot, you can ask my anything about it and I can help! However, when it comes to cars, I am slowly learning!

I sold my GSX-R a few months ago and have been interested in Trans Am's or Camaro's. I really like the way they look and sound with SLP Loudmouth exhaust. I have been looking for a 1998-1999 Trans Am or Camaro (which ever fits my price range or I can get at a good price) for a few months now. All the ones (in my price range $4,500-$5,500) I have looked at are not in the greatest condition. They either have ripped liners, shattered dashes, or leather is tore to shreds. I know it will not be perfect, but would prefer one where I don't have to dump a lot of money into it.

Right now, I am looking at a 1998 Camaro Z28 for sale. It has 174,416 miles. It is going for $2,995? Is it worth the $3K and getting with 174K miles? Is there any potential/foreseeable problems if the future that I may encounter?

Here is the Carfax: CARFAX Vehicle History Report for this 1998 CHEVROLET CAMARO Z28

Here is the car: 1998 Chevrolet Camaro $2,995 - Coughlin Automotive - London - London, OH 43140 Dealer

Any advice from the community would be appreciated.

Here are some more pictures that the dealer took today and sent me. For 3K the car looks in really good shape. He also told me that they just replaced the clutch. He mentioned the owner of the car woks at the dealer and traded it in for a truck.

Thanks

Old 12-03-2012, 09:17 PM
In the Staging Lanes

Here is more.

Old 12-03-2012, 09:27 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

wow for that price whats wrong with it?? must be a 5 speed. trans was checked for some reason in the last service wonder what that was about,

Old 12-03-2012, 09:31 PM