Help with Ignition coil testing

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2012, 11:21 PM
Default Help with Ignition coil testing

I'm still having this issue where after my car warms up it studders, loses power. Kind of sounds like its misfiring. I have changed the spark plugs and had the ICM tested. Not sure what this could be. I had it scanned and it show no DTC's. I want to check my coil packs to see if they are the issue. I tried looking through the site for the answer but couldn't find it. Can anyone tell me in detail how to test the coils because I have never done this before?

Old 10-10-2012, 09:56 PM
Old 10-10-2012, 11:46 PM

Hey peter x thanks very much..

Old 10-11-2012, 06:42 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Most of the time when a Gm coil fails it is because someone ran the spark plug wires too long. Plug wires should be changed 6-7 years.

Old 10-11-2012, 09:25 PM

Keep us updated I'm having same problem fyi I changed coil packs ,firing plate,wires ,plugs,cat delete just got my cdl permit today and gonna have to drive some distance to get experience plz help sorry to post here but same issue .

Old 10-13-2012, 07:16 AM
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Just remember the result is a lack of good combustion in the cylinder. The reason can vary but the symptoms be exactly the same. If it a blown head gasket allowing the coolant to short out the plug, a broken ring or bad valve that will not allow compression to build, or a weak injector that will not give the cylinder enough gas and about 20 other things. They all result in the same thing, a misfire. Some engines are prone to certain problems but any one of the issues can arise in any motor. When it comes to engine “drivability” seeing what someone else did to fix the “same” problem can be a waste of time.

Old 10-14-2012, 03:54 AM