Future Camaro Owner

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2018, 09:28 PM
Default Future Camaro Owner

Hello, I don't own a Camaro right now, but I am thinking about getting a good looking Camaro in the future. I just have some questions about the car itself. I've already did some research on the car itself, and how it needs the extra things that another car might not need but I just feel like I am not getting the specific answers.
I am planning on using it as a daily car. I go to college and have a job that's 5 minutes away from home. I planning on buying a V6 engine one, nothing to serious. It just needs navigation and I am good.

Will I be safe when I drive in the snow with winter tires?
With all seasonal tires, will I be safe when driving in the rain, in like Summer and Spring?
I drive a minivan right now (lol right?) I have been driving it for 4 years, so I'll have to get use to driving a smaller car.

Thanks

Old 02-28-2018, 11:13 PM
Y2K
4th Gear Member

Well the Camaro is a rear drive car so it's not going to get around as good as the front drive minivan or a front drive car of any kind. Adding a posi rear end would help a lot but if you have any big hills to deal with you better buy some chains and know how to use them. Rain shouldn't be a problem,the six bangers aren't overpowered and come with smaller tires than the Z28 or SS so unless you put big fat tires on it you should be fine.

Old 03-01-2018, 09:48 AM
4th Gear Member

Welcome, Tron, to the Club.
Adding to Y2K response, all season tires will be fine. Keep them inflated, say 32-26 PSI.
The only time you have to worry is when you speed in the rain as hydroplaning comes into affect - water does not get channeled out by the weight and tire tread.
As for snow driving, some add a couple bags of sand and place them over the rear axle.
Plus, you have a traction ability with the sand if stuck, spread some in front/rear of the tire for traction.

As with any experience, practice makes perfect.
You'll be just fine.