Ever Famous 4th Gen V6 to Carb V8 Topic

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010 | 09:01 PM
|
Cool Ever Famous 4th Gen V6 to Carb V8 Topic

First off, hello. I am new to all of this. My first forum post ever. I do read a lot and find very informative information.

I have read the many post about swapping a v6 to a carb v8 and laughed at some of the remarks. Well, I did it as well. It can be done and it is pretty easy. Yes there is no room for the distributer, and you may have to mod for the air filter, but it can be done. I have a TH350 trans and changed the rear end. All of that was done fairly cheap.

My question is about the motor mounts. The v6 mounts are back to far and I wanted to know if there was something I can purchase instead of fabricating. I seen Vtech (sorry if I miss spell that) post and he did an awesome job fabricating some mounts. Just wanted to know if anyone makes something like that. Once I have that, I'll be done. Except for the paint. I have searched everywhere and no one seems to have an answer except saying that it has been posted somewhere... but it I can't find it.

Thanks

Old 05-15-2010 | 10:54 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

What year?

I will look around there is someone that makes a tubular Kmember for the 350. Its is even better then the using the LT1 K-member. I think it sets the motor a little lower. I remember reading the web page, Its even had options like with stock rack or with manual Rack. I think it went for about $399. Also you can use an LT1 K-member I think they even share 2 of the 3 bolts. I think the fabrication is drilling a hole.

I would love to know more about the build. Fuel system, Exhaust, Trans mount. What about anti-lock brakes? Any pics?

Last edited by Gorn; 05-15-2010 at 11:03 PM.
Old 05-15-2010 | 11:21 PM
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

BMR Fabrication