Base model or RS?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2015, 07:07 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Base model or RS?

Hello, im new to the Camaro scene and have just purchased a 97 Camaro. But im confused on whether its a base model or an RS. It doesn't Have any of the RS badges on it or anything. Is there any sure way to tell. Searching the vin number is no help as it says it could be either a base or RS. I know its not an SS because it has the gen 2 3800 in it.

Old 10-29-2015, 07:14 PM
4th Gear Member

its an RS ,or you can call it one the ss had a v8 engine ,I have RS I just got enblems on it 12,00 for the set one ebay not any on it ,an I don't think it needsground affects to be one ,welcome to the forum ,the ones I got are real too rs is the base model I do think so ,couse mine has the ground effects leather an stainless exhaust all the goodies ralley sport enjoy it there fun,oh another thing that's the gen 4 3800 2,an there is an ss as well ss an z28

Last edited by 95 camaro 406; 10-29-2015 at 07:25 PM.
Old 10-29-2015, 07:28 PM
In the Staging Lanes

Originally Posted by 95 camaro 406
its an RS ,or you can call it one the ss had a v8 engine ,I have RS I just got enblems on it 12,00 for the set one ebay not any on it ,an I don't think it needsground affects to be one ,welcome to the forum ,the ones I got are real too rs is the base model I do think so ,couse mine has the ground effects leather an stainless exhaust all the goodies ralley sport enjoy it there fun
Thanks for the quick reply. I guess that would explain why the vin comes up as either lol. I just searched eBay but didn't find any OEM badges. Ill probably just go to a junk yard and see if there's any, if not then ill just order some aftermarket ones off eBay. I just don't want to look like a tool putting RS badges on a base model. Lol.

Old 10-29-2015, 07:41 PM
4th Gear Member