Annoying Problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2013, 05:01 AM
Default Annoying Problem

Newbie here. Recently bought a 1995 Z-28 convertible, 6-speed. It has a lot of miles but seems to very weel taken care of. I have two annoying problems. I don't know if they are related or not.

Problem 1
The door chime (the one for key still in the ignition or lights still on) still chimes even after the key has been pulled from the ignition. Sometimes I can make it stop by wiggling the ignition. Once the door is closed the chime turns off.

Problem 2
I sometimes have a battery drain as if I had left the headlights on for an extended period of time. I had been driving and restarting with no problems. I pull over, turn the ignition off, and lowered the power top and windows. Then I went to restart and the battery was dead. Yesterday I was doing some interior detailing with the top and windows down, and both doors opened for about 30 minutes. Went to start and battery was dead again.

It seems that any power used while the engine is not running quickly kills the battery. I drove it over to the local Auto Zone test the battery and they "said" that it was a good battery with a full charge.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Old 09-22-2013, 02:50 PM
2nd Gear member

Ignition switch

Old 09-22-2013, 09:57 PM

Originally Posted by Dana
Ignition switch
That's what I was thinking. It this a common problem on 4th Gen Camaros ??? Do you think the ignition switch is the answer to both of my annoying problems ???

Thanks,

Old 09-23-2013, 07:29 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Originally Posted by I Shine
That's what I was thinking. It this a common problem on 4th Gen Camaros ??? Do you think the ignition switch is the answer to both of my annoying problems ???

Thanks,