94 camaro Arc problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2011, 10:07 PM
Default 94 camaro Arc problem

Read this forum all the time guys. Good stuff. I have a 94 Camaro Z28. Has 383 strocker, and all the performance mods u can do to it. I am a DIY garage mechanic but having some trouble. Been trying to figure out a few problems with the engine so i started it up at night and let it get to temp. I then looked for anything glowing or arcing. Finally noticed my coil wire arcing then noticed some of my driver side wires arcing then noticed all my passenger side wires arcing!! The engine runs pretty good with a rough idle, but i thought it was the cc306 cam i have in it, plus it vibrates at high rpm and alittle white smoke/vapor out the exhaust. Anyways, what can cause all wires to arc? (Has Taylor 8.5mm wires, ACDelco plugs, msd coil, and msd ignition box)

Old 11-19-2011, 10:15 PM
2nd Gear member

They could just be bad wires really. The heat may have gotten to them or burned them in spots and they arc in those areas. Replace the wires and go from there. Seems that a lot of people end up having complications with the MSD Ignition Box so that may be your problem. But I'm sure someone else will chime in with help.

Old 11-19-2011, 11:10 PM
Tech Droid

Arching indicates that the voltage is higher than the insulation can handle, and the current is taking a short cut to ground.

Old 11-20-2011, 06:02 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

^^^ agree. the msd blaster will eat the non vented stock opti the 93 and 94 have. best to use msd opti (vented) and wires with that coil.

Old 11-20-2011, 02:35 PM

Sounds logical. So since I have MSD coil & MSD ignition box ya'll saying it may be just too much for the wires? Since i have the MSD box, could I replace the coil with stock to see if that simmer things down alittle?

Old 11-20-2011, 08:51 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club