93 Camaro high idle

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2012, 11:24 PM
Default 93 Camaro high idle

I recently got my latest fbody, a 93 Camaro 3.4L v6
shortly after getting it we had a very cold morning and it started idling high.
It idles around 1700 rpm in park, and 1100-1200 in gear.

I have an alldata subscription for it and read a gm tech bulletin saying for an intermittent high idle to disconnect the battery for 1 min to reset the ecu,
After doing this the engine idled normal when I started it up.

Next morning after the car sat over night the high idle came back.
I tried the procedure once again. reset ecu, car idled correctly, a couple hours latter still idled correctly, next morning high idle was back.

according to the tech bulletin, "The engine control system sensors are supplied a 5 volt reference signal to ensure properly scaled readings to the engine control module (ECM). If a large current draw flows through the circuit supplying the 5 volt reference, the input signals, as read by the ECM, will be skewed low. The ECM program will store an incorrectly low throttle position sensor signal as zero. If the reference voltage returns to normal, the ECM will interpret the resultant high throttle position sensor signal as an open throttle and idle air control steps (throttle follower) will be added accordingly, causing an increase in the engine rpm at idle."

All ac equipment has been gutted from the car, and I can not find any bare wires that would cause a short during the starting process that would cause the 5v signal for the iac, tps, map, and ac pressure switch to be skewed low

Does any one have an idea what the problem could be or what direction I need to go in resolving this issue?

Old 11-29-2012, 06:23 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

have you flashed for codes or had the trouble codes read. each time you unhook the battery your clearing any trouble codes that may have been set.

Old 11-29-2012, 10:32 AM