3.4 remanufactured, or get the old one machined?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2010, 11:27 PM
Question 3.4 remanufactured, or get the old one machined?

I have a 95 3.4 I took it to an oil change shop and they messed up and didnt fill it back up with oil, I drove it to work the next day and on the way home it started knocking. I have parked the car and am trying to decide what is the better idea. I would like to put something bigger in it, but I am a full time college student, so an ls1(plus new suspension, computer, exhaust, and probably tranny) is not in the budget. I can go and get a remanufactured engine from autozone for about what I can take the engine to a shop and get it rebuilt, any benefits to one over the other? (other than the numbers will match?) or if you have a better suggestion, let me know.

Old 08-11-2010, 03:13 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

the main reason to rebuild would be to build stronger and more power another would be you know its done right and if it isnt then you know who to blame. lol. soo if your trying to save money and time go with autozone. what kind of warrenty do they give and if you install what is it.

Old 08-11-2010, 05:14 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

If the shop is covering the repair their insurance should handle everything. Remanufactured engines are almost always cheaper then local rebuilds. If the engine ran dry your rebuild will be pricey.

Old 08-11-2010, 08:17 AM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Gorn
If the shop is covering the repair their insurance should handle everything. Remanufactured engines are almost always cheaper then local rebuilds. If the engine ran dry your rebuild will be pricey.
if the story is factual, then the shop had best be covering the repair.

Old 08-11-2010, 08:35 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club