82-92 V8 Tech V8 Camaro General Topics.

new guy, just sayin hi

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2005, 03:47 PM
Default new guy, just sayin hi

Hello, new to this website and i wanted to say thanks for the welcome.

well, i am looking to buy a newer body style camaro, v8 stick. And while i realize that I may not find one for sale, i would greatly appreciate any insight as to how the car reacts to mods and basically anyuthing you have to sy would be a great help... thanks agan for the welcome.

Peace out,
Glade

Old 12-15-2005, 06:16 PM
2nd Gear member
Default RE: new guy, just sayin hi

I have a lot of first hand experience, and satisfaction, the this series Camaro and LS engines in general.

You definately can find ones for sale. There are minor differences by year but I'd buy on condition versusprice, considering anything from 98 on.

Some of the cars you find for sale have been loved and babied. Some have been used or abused by idiots. And a small portion of those for salehave been seriously modified and abused, and are now repaired back to "stock" condition by owners just wanting you to take over their problems. Check carefully: cavaet emptor.

There is an overwhelming array of aftermarket parts and suppliers for the LS1 engine (and the LT1 in the preceding model series). Just everything, from headers to air boxes to cams and heads and entire engines and superchargers and rubos and -- how much do you want to spend? The LS1 engine is strong and can take a lot of abuse for a long time: it is the strongest element of the drivetrain (and the entire car). The transmission is only so-so and these cars have one real weak point; the rear axle. Its leaks around the seals and also just goes if the car is abused, or even used heavily.