89' Camaro having big problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2007, 05:11 PM
Default 89' Camaro having big problems

Hey Guys,
Newbie here, at least to posting! I have this topic posted over at gen tech and not having any luck there so I thoughtI'd try it here.
I searched 25 or so pages deep in this forum and didn't find the QA's that really fit my problem.
So here goes...
89' 2.8 116000miles
A few weeks ago it started bogging down real bad on initial acceleration. If I mash the gas it grabs, and runs fine. Once I'm up past 20mph or so it's fine. Stop again and go to accelerate and again it bogs down. No check engine light(it does work). It had a tune up a year ago, all but wires. So I replaced the wires. No help. Still no check engine light. When I unplugged the old MAF, the problem went away. So I replaced the MAF, MAF relay and the Air charge sensor. Still no help, in fact maybe worse.I was told thatwith the MAF unplugged it sent the car into "limp" mode which would make it run rich. So it seems to me the caris running lean for some reason. Am I way off?Any suggestions?With no check engine light, can a mechanic trouble shoot it or would it just be a guess?If it would throw a code my life sure would be a lot easier! Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Update-
I changed the distributor cap and rotor button and now it runs even worse. Sputtering and backfiring, I could barely get it away from the curb. it runs better once it gets up past 20mph or so. But from a dead stop it is real bad. I checked the wires for correct position and they matched up according to haynes manual. I'm totally lost now.
Any thoughts?

Old 09-25-2007, 06:47 PM
Tech Droid
Default RE: 89' Camaro having big problems