89 Camaro RS renovation

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2012, 09:42 PM
Default 89 Camaro RS renovation

Ok so i just got a 89 camaro rs with a 305, carb, 5 speed. ran the block number and it comes up with year 86-88. Im new to older chevys but have a lot of experience with newer cars so I am just looking for some advice.

Ive already searched the forum pretty good and have realized the 305 has go to go. Will be looking at a 350 or 383 when the funds are available. Basicly i just need a few questions answered. If i build the 305 will most of those performance parts swap over to a 350? Such as headers, intake, heads, cams. Also is it better to go with buying a gm create motor or a used 350 and rebuild it. I have rebuilt motors before but never a sbc so am just wondering about difficulty/cost effectiveness.

Other info. Im NOT switching to fuel injection, i know the benefits. I know this is a 24 year old car, i know buying a new car could be faster. Basically please help me with my questions and dont say "go fuel injected" or "buy a new car". Also my hp goal is for the time being 300-350 but i would like to expand on that more down the road.

Old 01-02-2013, 01:14 PM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by nh89camaro
Ok so i just got a 89 camaro rs with a 305, carb, 5 speed. ran the block number and it comes up with year 86-88. Im new to older chevys but have a lot of experience with newer cars so I am just looking for some advice.

Ive already searched the forum pretty good and have realized the 305 has go to go. Will be looking at a 350 or 383 when the funds are available. Basicly i just need a few questions answered. If i build the 305 will most of those performance parts swap over to a 350? Such as headers, intake, heads, cams. Also is it better to go with buying a gm create motor or a used 350 and rebuild it. I have rebuilt motors before but never a sbc so am just wondering about difficulty/cost effectiveness.