Where can I get body work/bondo advice??

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2006, 10:31 PM
3rd Gear Member
Default Where can I get body work/bondo advice??

My 82 'Maro is in need of a little TLC in the way of body work. Nothing major, a few spots of rust on the fenders and such. Id really like to do as much of the bodywork as I possibly can. Is there a decent website or book out there that covers this kind of stuff? (Ive always been pretty crappy with Bondo, so I usually just stick to turning wrenches. ) I couldnt find "auto bodywork for Dummies" online!

Old 10-23-2006, 11:47 PM
Overdrive Member
Default RE: Where can I get body work/bondo advice??

What do you need to know?
I have been doing it since 1985 and do it better and faster than guys that have been doing it since I was born. So I will ask those guys and see what kind of advice they have for you.

Old 10-24-2006, 07:21 PM
3rd Gear Member

Just little things, technique, application methods. Like I said, I only tried my hand at bodywork SEVERAL years ago, the results looked like a poor sheetrock patchup job. What are the basic tools Ill need? WIll a palm sander suffice?

What should I use on my hood (Bondo or fiberglass) -The hood is the 'composite' material that resembles fiberglass. (IM putting scoops over the old crossfire cutouts and need to fill in the last 2 inches that the scoop doesnt cover towards the front end)

Whats the best way to really eat away at some old rust? Ive got some spots that are about silver dollar size. I plan on going at them with a wire brush, bondo, glazing putty, etc....Unfortunatly I dont have access to an air compressor right now, so sand blasters and pneumatic tools are out of the question.

Sorry about all the questions. I bid on a DVD last night on Ebay, some self proclaimed guru teaches you 'everything you need to know' kind of thing. But, seeing how Im starting from basics, even the instructions on a can of Bondo might help!

Old 10-27-2006, 01:27 AM
Overdrive Member